Could Be Something Good (Timber Falls #1)

Could Be Something Good

Fiona West

Published May 29 2020

5 Stars

“It was love at first brush-off…

Dr. Daniel Durand wanted Winnie Baker the minute he laid eyes on her. Never mind that she’s his attending physician’s daughter, can’t stand him, and she’s a few years older than him. Giving up would’ve been the smart thing to do when the hot blonde midwife gave him the cold shoulder at the elevators his first week of residency at Santiam, but he never did give up easy. After bonding over early-morning Mexican food, can he convince her that he’s just the arm candy she needs for that wedding…and get her to consider one of their own?

Winnie Baker isn’t taking her cousin to another wedding. Her mentor’s big day is far too important to miss. And she’s not going by herself, not with her ex-boyfriend promising to be in attendance and blowing up her phone with texts on a weekly basis, asking for another chance. But the pickings are a bit slim in Timber Falls, a sleepy Oregon town in the foothills of the Cascades. She moved here to focus on building her midwifery practice, not get involved with cute millennial boys with trendy shoes and long eyelashes. And yet, even this small rural hospital is feeling a bit crowded, with her mother and her group of doctors-in-training constantly underfoot…especially since she was supposed to be one of those doctors.

Will an easy-going guy like Daniel still be interested when she spills her secret?

Could Be Something Good is the first book in the Timber Falls romantic comedy series. It contains mild cursing, a make-out scene involving melted butter and stolen moments in medical supply closets, but no open door sex scenes. If you like ridiculous bets, meddling relatives, and reverse dates, grab this book now.”

Okay, this one. Stick a fork in me, I’m done. I might be biased because I live in Oregon and small towns are my jam, but Timber Falls is the place I want to call home. Most of my family works in healthcare, so this love story set in a small town hospital hit all the right notes to knock me into love with it.

I honestly am usually too shy to reach out to authors after finishing their books, but I immediately sent Fiona West an email asking about the hospital. It reminded me so much of the little hospital I grew up in (my mom is a respiratory therapist and often took us to work to play in the rehab gym on the weekends). It turns out I am a dinglehopper who forgot this is a real hospital that exists, but Fiona was very sweet and kind – and got herself added to my “auto buy” list!

Winnie is a midwife trying to build her practice who has the added benefit of having a strongwilled mother…who happens to be a physician in the same hospital. It’s a case of “Mother knows best…..except Mother doesn’t know her child”. I felt this in my soul (sorry, Mom, if you’re reading, but we’ve discussed this…)

I personally have worked in healthcare almost my entire career (minus one ill-fated year in finance) and these interactions make my little heart soar. I adore every single human in this book, even Winnie’s mother, and I WANT TO LIVE IN TIMBER FALLS NOW, OKAY THANK YOU.

I might have squealed out loud when I found out who the next books were about…..because I want to demand every single person’s story (Fiona, I’m sorry, I am needy!)

Daniel, Daniel, Daniel….. ah, Daniel. You share my heart with your brother (I’m sorry but Kyle will always be my favorite Dr. Durand forever and ever and always. I mean, HE’S KYLE.) Daniel is a heartthrob with a heart of gold, and I love how determined he is without crossing the line into creep. I also truly appreciate how involved he gets with his patients (not romantically, get your minds out of the gutter, he’s just a fantastic physician!!) and I want to give this book to every single MD I encounter so they can learn from his bedside manner.

Fiona West, I want to live in your novels. You bring small town Oregon to life and I cannot WAIT to devour the rest of the series!

This clearly got 5 stars. Always. Forever. Team Winnie + Daniel = LUV4EVA.

(well, Team Kyle, but that’s a different story for a different time!)

Thank you to Netgalley for the e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment